The Shell Helix Ultra Cup is back to fuel the rivalry and ultra-performance between Mamelodi Sundowns and Kaizer Chiefs.


This second instalment of the ultimate showdown between North and South takes place on 12 October, 2019 at the FNB Stadium. There can only be one Ultra team!


It’s not just 90 minutes – it’s fan banter, the pride of cities, and the excitement of the build-up that will determine who will be the one!


Get your tickets at Computicket, and you could be your team’s Fan of the Match and enjoy the game from the pitchside, while 10 of your friends hang out in a VIP suite at the stadium.


The inaugural Shell Helix Ultra Cup took place on 21 July, 2018 at FNB Stadium in Soweto, and saw Mamelodi Sundowns pip Kaizer Chiefs 2-1 to lift the trophy.


In front of 49 000 screaming fans, it was the Brazilians who scored the opening goal just after the break when Jeremy Brockie netted on the rebound after Anthony Laffor’s shot had come back off the upright.


It lifted a massive weight off the shoulders of the New Zealand striker, who had up until that point failed to find the net in the six months since signing from Tshwane rivals SuperSport United.


Chiefs were not without their chances, with new arrival, Zimbabwean attacker Khama Billiat, proving lively against his former employees.


However, Sundowns all but killed off the game in time added on when Themba Zwane combined with former Amakhosi midfielder George Lebese before shooting into the top corner past a diving Itumeleng Khune.


Still, the Amakhosi kept on fighting and found the net in the 96th minute when Bernard Parker showed all his class by volleying home Philani Zulu’s corner.


However, it proved but a consolation as Sundowns held out to lift the first ever Shell Helix Ultra Cup trophy.


Kaizer Chiefs: Khune, Mphahlele, Cardoso, Mathoho, Mirwa (Philani Zulu 45’), Katsande, Ekstein (Hadebe 73’), Tshabalala (Parker 80’), Billiat (Jayiya 88’), Paez (Molangoane 55’), Castro (Moon 80’)


Mamelodi Sundowns: Mweene, Morena, Soumahoro, Madisha, Lakay, Mohomi (Kekana 72’), Mkhulise (Zwane 64’), Manyisa, Sirino (Lebese 83’), Laffor (Silva 73’), Brockie (Malajila 92’)

Copyright © 2019 Shell South Africa. All rights reserved. The information contained in this website may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Shell South Africa.